Author Topic: Looking for henry marsh in chichester  (Read 11123 times)

Offline eddie marsh

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Looking for henry marsh in chichester
« on: Friday 03 May 13 13:48 BST (UK) »
Hi,
  I'm new to this so sorry if I'm doing it wrong! ::). I have been tracing my family and have come to a dead end. I have traced the Marsh side back to my great grand father Joseph Marsh with some confidence to a marriage record in 1883 to Emma Parker. On this Joseph's father is listed as Henry Marsh, but I can't find any other records for him on the usual search sites. The marriage took place at st Peter-The Great church, chichester 30 jun 1883. Josephs birth date is 1853. I have found a birth record for Henry at the same church on 10 jun 1808 with parents William and maria. This will add up as it makes Henry 45 when Joseph was born. However I could do with a little mare evidence to prove my theory. Can anyone help please with confirmation or any other info as it looks like this church was a focal point to my family. Any help would be much appreciated, Regards Eddie

Offline avm228

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Looking for henry marsh in chichester
« Reply #1 on: Friday 03 May 13 14:28 BST (UK) »
Hello and welcome :)

Have you had a look for Joseph in the censuses - does he give Chichester as his birthplace? If you've found him prior to marriage, who is he with?

Another question - what was Henry Marsh's occupation stated to be on Joseph's marriage record, and who were the witnesses? What was Joseph's occupation and address at the time of marriage?
Ayr: Barnes, Wylie
Caithness: MacGregor
Essex: Eldred (Pebmarsh)
Gloucs: Timbrell (Winchcomb)
Hants: Stares (Wickham)
Lincs: Maw, Jackson (Epworth, Belton)
London: Pierce
Suffolk: Markham (Framlingham)
Surrey: Gosling (Richmond)
Wilts: Matthews, Tarrant (Calne, Preshute)
Worcs: Milward (Redditch)