Author Topic: John Davies LLansawel Carmarthenshire  (Read 3547 times)

Offline StDavids

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
John Davies LLansawel Carmarthenshire
« on: Thursday 10 October 13 18:57 BST (UK) »
I am new to this.  My great great grandfather was John Davies. In his family bible, he wrote he was born in Blaenresgair, LLansawel, Carmarthenshire on October 23rd 1834. From the 1841 Llansawel census, I believe his father was John Davies then aged 30 and from a scrap of family notes from a now deceased relative I think his grandfather would be a William Davies.  A reference in family papers is also made to Ffosgotta which I gather is quite near  at Abergorlech.
There are many Davies names in the Llansawel 1841 census and it is quite difficult to work out where to go from here.
Does any one have any advice?

Offline alltcafan

• RootsChat Member
  • sun setting in Powys
    • View Profile
Re: John Davies LLansawel Carmarthenshire
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 13 October 13 19:02 BST (UK) »
Dear StDavids,

Your great great grandfather John Davies of Blaenresgair, Llansawel born 23rd Oct 1834 was baptised on 7th November 1834 at Llansawel.  Parents showing as John & Mary Davies. 

NOTE: The 1841 Census has a lot less information than other Censuses  and also ages of people living in the house/farm over the age of 15 were rounded down, for example: if the person was 44 they would be put down to 40 or if they were 47 they were shown as 45).

From the information on 1851 & 61 Censuses - John (was born around1807) & Mary Davies (born around 1806) and lived at Blaenresgair (various spellings):

The 1841 Blaenyresker,  and 1851 & 61 Blaenyresgair, John and Mary had the following children and the date of births are estimated from the Censuses:
David b. 1832;  John b. 1834;  Mary b. 1837;  Jane b. 1839;  Elizabeth b. 1842;  James b. 1845;
Margaret b. 1848;  and Daniel b. 1852.