Author Topic: Alice Mary Midworth b Nottingham 1896 - Brick wall  (Read 11365 times)

Offline ireneflora

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Alice Mary Midworth b Nottingham 1896 - Brick wall
« on: Wednesday 15 January 14 22:26 GMT (UK) »
I've been researching this off and on for several years and I'm just not getting anywhere, so I'm really hoping someone with local knowledge might be able to help.
I have my grandmother's birth certificate saying she was born at 11 Hanley St., Nottingham on 18 Sept 1896, mother's name given as Mary Midworth, no father's name.
I can't find any evidence of Midworths living in Hanley St. Can anyone tell me whether there might have been a hospital or workhouse there?
I haven't found a baptism record.
By 1901 Alice 'Medworth' was living as a boarder with the Pickett family in Sibsey Northlands, Lincolnshire. I can find no connection between Picketts and Midworths/Medworths.
Does the term 'boarder' imply anything in particular when related to a young child? Is it likely that someone was paying the Pickett family to care for her? Did the Nottingham workhouse farm out children to families at that time, and if so would they have been likely to send one to Lincolnshire?
Although Midworth is an uncommon name I haven't been able to identify her mother Mary with any confidence.
I hope someone can help!

Online CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: Alice Mary Midworth b Nottingham 1896 - Brick wall
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 15 January 14 22:45 GMT (UK) »
Hi and welcome to Rootschat

The address shown on the birth cert could be anybody's - relative/friend etc.

The 1891 has a Mary Midworth b 1868 Lincolnshire living in Notts
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Carlin (Ireland & Liverpool) Doughty & Wright (Liverpool) Dick & Park (Scotland & Liverpool)

Online CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate