Author Topic: Tracing the marriage of George Rogers  (Read 3754 times)

Offline davef

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Tracing the marriage of George Rogers
« on: Tuesday 06 May 14 19:12 BST (UK) »
Hi, although I'm a beginner at this research I've managed to solve most problems other than the following, which focuses on Selattyn and Whittington in N Shropshire.

My ancestor George Rogers was born 1829 or thereabouts in Selattyn. I know he married a Sarah, either in Selattyn or (more likely) in Whittington, probably early to mid-1850s (children followed from 1858). In 1851 they appear to be living in Whittington - children start to be born there - and are certainly living with his parents in Pantglas (Selattyn) by 1861 BUT I can't locate a marriage record so I can find Sarah's maiden name for further research.

Selattyn Parish Church records go only to 1837; Whittington to about 1812; Ancestry.co.uk and Findmypast.co.uk searches have proved fruitless. Any advice is welcomed. Thanks.

Offline dawnsh

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Tracing the marriage of George Rogers
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 06 May 14 19:28 BST (UK) »
Hi Dave

Have you invested in a birth cert for one of the children which should give her maiden name?

There's this birth

Dec 1859
Rogers, Nathaniel,  Oswestry    6a   637

and this possible marriage if the birth cert shows her surname to be Nicholas

Mar 1851
Rogers, George,  Oswestry    18   167

They may have married in the register office so you won't find an entry in the parish registers currently online.

Dawn

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Sherry-Paddington & Marylebone,
Longhurst-Ealing & Capel, Abinger, Ewhurst & Ockley,
Chandler-Chelsea

Offline Annette7

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 06 May 14 19:39 BST (UK) »