Author Topic: Percy Platt - Illegitimate/Adopted Bolton 1898  (Read 16858 times)

Offline Waterloo24

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Percy Platt - Illegitimate/Adopted Bolton 1898
« on: Saturday 19 July 14 10:48 BST (UK) »
Hello There
My first post here so not sure where to post or go for help. I have been researching my family for a couple of years but am still a total novice. I am now in Australia which makes the task even harder.

I am really stuck with my granddads strand of the tree and would love to find out more so am hoping someone can help me. I lost my mum last year and finding out about her dad has become very important to me as I couldn't get anywhere or tell her much.

His name was Thomas Percy Platt (also known as Percy Thomas Platt) and he was Born in Bolton 1898 to Margaret Platt ( born 1880) - no father listed.

In the 1901 census he is listed as a lodger of Mary Hughes and in 1811 as her adopted son. I am unsure what happened to Margaret. Mary was in her 60's and died in 1913 so grandad was alone. I did find her Will and it appears she left her $80 fortune to her brother.  Percy never talked about that time except to say that it was hard and that he begged outside the mills. I am thinking he maybe ended up in a poorhouse but have no evidence of that.

I know Grandad signed up as a boy soldier in 1914 as life was so hard. Mum believed he had 2 half brothers James (may have been John) who married Doris and Jack who was insane but I have no idea what their surname was. I am guessing these were Margaret s sons also and mum was pretty sure they were also Platt.

I would love to find out more about Margaret and grandads life but have no idea where to go next.My mother remembers visiting an old lady in an Asylum in Bolton around 1950 who was apparently Percys mother.