Author Topic: Delany / Delaney of Cork and Kerry  (Read 34071 times)

Offline Gilby

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Delany / Delaney of Cork and Kerry
« on: Thursday 21 August 14 14:32 BST (UK) »
My ggg grandfather Mathew Browne married a Margaret Delaney in St Peters, Dublin.  The Irish church records site had given me the date of 21st Nov 1841, but today I found that it was in October, not November that they married:

[Dublin Evening Mail, 22nd Oct 1841] October 21, at St Peter's Church, by the Rev. B. C. Browne, Matthew Browne, of the city of Dublin, Esq., to Margarette, daughter of Matthew Delaney, of the county of Cork, Esq., deceased, and grand-niece of the late P. Delaney, Esq., of Glengariffe, and of Castle Lough, Killarney.

I’m completely new to this Delany family.  I’m interested if anyone has any connections.  Who was Matthew Delany of Co. Cork?  Who was “P. Delaney of Glengariffe, and of Castle Lough, Killarney” and why did he deserve special mention?  Does anyone know anything about Castle Lough or Glengariffe?

Thanks

Offline Gilby

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Delany / Delaney of Cork and Kerry
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 13 May 18 19:28 BST (UK) »
Some progress at last!

It appears that a Patrick Delany of Glengariff was married to a Mary Lawlor whose father was Dr. James Lawlor of Castlelough, Killarney.  Therefore I think this pair are probably the parents of “P. Delaney, Esq.” and grandparents of my gggg grandfather Matthew Delaney. 

Betham Genealogical Abstracts:
371/ Delany Darby of Glengariffe, Co Cork, Gent.  To Patrick Delany the son.  Admon granted 5 day June 1756.

Pat. Delany of Glennygarriff in Co Cork Gent.  31 Oct 1767 .  2 March 1768.
Wife Mary Lawlor
Daughter Honora
Daughter Mary
Son James
Daughter Elizabeth
Eldest son Darby Delaney