Author Topic: pitt farm broadclyst devon  (Read 1138 times)

Offline roo92

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
pitt farm broadclyst devon
« on: Sunday 12 October 14 00:27 BST (UK) »
I am brand new to all this. My great grandfather George Salter, aged 6, lived at Pitt Farm,according to the 1841 Census, with his father, Aaron plus about 14 siblings and half siblings. Next door, at Broomhill Farm, lived Aaron's brother, John, with about 20 more children by 2 marriages. Can anyone please help me with the details of both these premises both pre and post 1841 along with their occupants? Thanks very much, Ralph.

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: pitt farm broadclyst devon
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 12 October 14 01:30 BST (UK) »
Have you looked at maps of Broadclyst? It looks like a fairly small place and some farms are named on modern maps. Also check www.old-maps.co.uk where you can enter a place name and then alternate between maps of different eras. You are unable to easily scroll around however I think this feature is enabled if you buy a subscription to the site. It may be useful if you have a lot of place names to search for.

I note that the writing on the 1841 census is not very clear, but you may also be able to narrow down the locations of the farms by looking at the addresses of the nrighbours in the home that one of those farms still exists or some recognizable street or landmark is named.

It's probably a bit of a tedious trawl.

Alternatively have you googled?

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 12 October 14 01:35 BST (UK) »
Description of the enumerator's district for 1841:

All of that part of the parish of Broadclist from the Collumpton(?) Road, including Whitedown, the whole of Sp-eydown(?), north of the road leading from Broad Oak to Brook Hill.