Author Topic: Advice on researching Irish civil marriage record indexes.  (Read 4474 times)

Offline Airdriehunter

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Advice on researching Irish civil marriage record indexes.
« on: Thursday 08 January 15 14:31 GMT (UK) »
Hi, I have a possible marriage record that could be one of my ancestors. Name, area and date of marriage tie in.  The problem is there are so many possible matches on that record.  I have ruled out a few but it is very difficult.  I was wondering from any of the experienced audience out there if anyone would have any tips or advice on how to go about it finding who she actually married?  The marriage was in 1896 in Armagh Co. Down for an Elizabeth Hunter b.1877. The record I have is from ancestry. I'm not very experienced on the family search site yet, on how to look for marriages, so any advice is very welcomed. Thanks :)

Offline josey

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Advice on researching civil marriage record indexes.
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 08 January 15 14:37 GMT (UK) »
Doesn't answer your question but rootsireland.ie have the following

Church Marriage   Hunter   Elizabeth   1896    Co Antrim
Civil Marriage   Hunter   Elizabeth   1896   Co. Armagh
Church Marriage   Hunter   Elizabeth   1896   Co. Antrim
Church Marriage   Hunter   Elizabeth   1896   Co. Antrim

Whoops that got posted before I was finished [cat walked across  keyboard ;)

None in Down. There are many duplicated records on this site [as I have learned to my dismay & cost] so 2 of  the Antrim ones are probably the same record. It used to cost 25 credits to view the record but now it is a subscription site.  These would show the spouse's name.