Author Topic: Menzies Mystery-William Menzies Solicitor of Customs in Edinburgh d. 1793  (Read 3825 times)

Offline Menzies76

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Menzies Mystery-William Menzies Solicitor of Customs in Edinburgh d. 1793
« on: Monday 09 February 15 16:12 GMT (UK) »
Hello!  I am new to Rootschat, so please forgive me if this post is a little long... looking for any help I can get with family project. I have hit a dead end while tracing back the ancestors of my second great grandfather, William Bradford Menzies, b. 1865. I get as far back as William Menzies, my 6th great grandfather, who married Elizabeth Midcalf. I know that he was the Solicitor of Customs in Edinburgh, and that he died in 1793. I have seen a few public member trees on ancestry sites that have his birth year as 1717, but that is not correct- that is probably closer to the year that his father was born. Some records are Midlothian, some are Dull, Perth, so thought I'd start on the Midlothian forum as William Menzies marriage record appears to be there.  Here is what I know about his family:

-Married Elizabeth Midcalf in1762.
-He had about 10 children, including John Menzies, b. 1763, who succeeded William as the Solicitor of Customs. He married Barbara Laird.
-His son Captain William Menzies,my 5th great grandfather, was b. 1778, and spent time in the West Indies. He married Harriet Callendar.

In researching this, I found book entitled "A History of the Family of Holland of Mobberley and Knutsford," in which there are family letters containing information about the William Menzies that I am looking for. Someone from the Holland Family married a Robert Menzies, and their son had received information about his father's side of the family. From this, I have a lot of names, but no dates, and nothing about William's date of birth, mother, or grandparents.