Author Topic: General questions about the Haggart family  (Read 14164 times)

Offline Scottleneveu

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
General questions about the Haggart family
« on: Tuesday 21 July 15 19:10 BST (UK) »
Hello all,

I have been doing my family research for some time now but I am still pretty new to it all :)

Basically I'm just looking for anyone related to the Haggart families of Scotland in particular the Haggarts of Fife, but I'm interested in hearing from anyone who is a Haggart or is related to one as you never know where or how you might find a link and I'm at somewhat of a dead end with my searches at the moment.

Also anybody with any information on the Haggart name itself would be greatly welcomed. I'm interested in the origins of the name as I've heard many different stories as to where it's from, I.E. It's a variant of Mctaggart and a variant of Haggarty but if anyone has any evidence of anything I'd love to hear from you!

All the best and happy searching,

Scott

Offline daval57

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Christmas 2011. My daughter Clare with me.
    • View Profile
Re: General questions about the Haggart family
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 21 July 15 20:55 BST (UK) »
My sister in law's mother is a Haggart and I've done some limited research on them.
Her family was in Cupar around mid / late 19th C.  Previously they were from Abernethy in Perthshire.  Other areas the family resided in were Redgorton / Luncarty and surrounding area.

As you don't mention dates or any specific names I'm unable to draw any comparisons.

I have no info re the origin of the name but as with most surnames there are variations that I've come across.
-------------------
FORREST (Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Stirlingshire and Dunbartonshire)
ROONEY (Co Down, Co Antrim) 
BORTHWICK, FORTUNE, BARKER, SIVES (Lothians)
ANDERSON (Moray, Caithness)

Offline Scottleneveu

• RootsChat Member