Author Topic: Caufield brick wall...  (Read 2044 times)

Offline carriea

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Caufield brick wall...
« on: Monday 27 July 15 23:51 BST (UK) »
Hi there!

I've been researching my Caufield roots for several years, but the trail has gone cold.

My Caufields are:

Owen Patrick Caufield b. 1807... m. Alice (var. Allis or Eliza) b. 1807 d. 1890 in Port Jervis, NY

children: James, John, Martin, Catherine, Bridget

Owen and Alice moved their family from Wexford to Port Jervis, NY in the 1850s. Owen disappears from the paper trail by 1875. Alice ran the show by then and her obituary says she was considered a sage of the community. My direct Caufield relations stayed in in Port Jervis, NY until my dad was a toddler (same house, too!). The sons all worked for Eerie RR.

Martin is my 2nd great-grandfather.
BIRTH ABT 1845 • County Wexford, Ireland
DEATH 5 SEPT 1925 • Port Jervis Orange County N.Y.

He married Catherine "Kitty" Molly and had a son, Owen Patrick:
BIRTH 7/5/1878 • Port Jervis, Orange, New York, USA
DEATH 8/11/1968 • Rochester, Monroe, New York, USA

Owen m. Iva Marie "Mary" Denny and had my grandfather, Owen Francis:
BIRTH 11 FEB 1909 • Port Jervis, Orange County, N.Y.
DEATH 12 FEB 1990 • Rochester, Monroe, New York, USA

My grandfather and father never talked about their Irish roots, so it took several years to find the right Caufields. 

The last name has been spelled various ways on US Censuses... and their appears to be family that matches all the names in Ireland Censuses during the same time period (1840-1880) from what I can tell, but I am certain that my Caufields lived in Port Jervis.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Wexflyer

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Not Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Caufield brick wall...
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 01 August 15 10:25 BST (UK) »
The surname is invariably Caulfield in Wexford.