Author Topic: what documentation would English citizens require to immigrate to Canada 1920's  (Read 774 times)

Offline RBUSH

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
I'm very new to genealogy, but, am really enjoying it so far.im sure that as I gain experience, I'll enjoy it more. Until then, I'll depend on you folks to help me with tips and guidance.
Being here in Canada, I have limited access to UK resources, in my family's research. One of the things I'm wondering is, in the 20's and 30's, what documentation would a English citizen require in order to immigrate to Canada? Did you have passports then? What was required of children?

Regards

Offline jim1

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • ain't life grand
    • View Profile
Re: what documentation would English citizens require to immigrate to Canada 1920's
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 27 October 15 11:24 GMT (UK) »
This might help.
http://ccrweb.ca/en/hundred-years-immigration-canada-1900-1999.
Basically it states a British national didn't need any documentation to enter Canada but it was in the discretion of the Canadian Govt. on whether an individual was allowed to stay.
The only formal documentation was that relating to assisted passages or in the case of children (orphans) indentures relating to where & to whom they were going to.
A good source of finding out when someone immigrated are of the course the shipping lists.
Warks:Ashford;Cadby;Clarke;Clifford;Cooke Copage;Easthope;
Edmonds;Felton;Colledge;Lutwyche;Mander(s);May;Poole;Withers.
Staffs.Edmonds;Addison;Duffield;Webb;Fisher;Archer
Salop:Easthope,Eddowes,Hoorde,Oteley,Vernon,Talbot,De Neville.
Notts.Clarke;Redfearne;Treece.
Som.May;Perriman;Cox
India Kane;Felton;Cadby
London.Haysom.
Lancs.Gay.
Worcs.Coley;Mander;Sawyer.
Kings of Wessex & Scotland
Census information is Crown copyright,from
www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

Offline ThrelfallYorky

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile