Author Topic: Men with the first name Henshall/Henshaw (Moss, Ravensroft, Stubbs and Heath)  (Read 2458 times)

Offline Thomo0903

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hi

I am fairly new to family history, though, so whilst I am trying to be thorough and meticulous about details, I apologise if my verifying seems sloppy by more experienced standards.

I have been researching my family tree and my husbands family tree. I came across a Henshall Heath as one of his great-uncles, and though it was a fairly unusual name. I had a look on BMD and there were a couple of other Henshall Heath's so I figured it was a family name.

Recently it popped up again in the Thornley family, who had married into a different branch of his family, which caught my attention. I did a BMD search for anyone with the first name Henshall and noticed they were all from Lancashire, Staffordshire or Cheshire, and often had the same surname (such as Moss), or surnames that were already in his family tree (such as Stubbs, Collier and Ravenscroft). The Ravenscroft caught my attention because my original Henshall Heath's mother's name was Frances Ravenscroft, and I realised that she had a brother named Henshall Ravenscroft (the first in a line of four).

It seems to me likely that a number of the other Henshall's are also related to my husband, and can probably be linked back to a single ancestor. Via some googling I discovered this http://www.ancestry.co.uk/genealogy/records/elizabeth-henshaw_10307074 on Ancestry. Whilst I am not sure how verified it is it shows a number of Henshaw and Henshalls across multiple generations and surnames, all linking back to a Roger Henshawe born in 1636. In particular it involves a number of people named Henshall Moss who seem to be the family referred to here: http://www.thepotteries.org/allpotters/761.htm.