Author Topic: Back Up Your Research!  (Read 17581 times)

Offline andrewalston

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • My granddad
    • View Profile
Back Up Your Research!
« on: Sunday 28 February 16 10:16 GMT (UK) »
You have spent many hours on your research. You have probably spent a fortune as well.

But do you have all your research results in one place? All those eggs in one basket?

How many times have you read a post saying that someone has had computer problems and lost something important?

DON'T LET IT HAPPEN TO YOU!

I work in the IT industry. I know that most people think that disasters only happen to others. You only become paranoid about backups when you actually lose something important. It's now 30 years since that happened to me.

Computer hardware is not infallible. Disks do actually wear out, even solid-state ones. Your computer might even get stolen. There will come a time when you won't be able to access all those hard-won zeros and ones. So PLEASE make backups.

You need to sort out what needs backing up. I suggest the following as a start.
  • Installation media for your genealogy software and any key needed to unlock it
  • The contents of the folders where your genealogy software puts your data. Some software makes this difficult to find
  • All those image files for certificates, photos and other documents
  • The software you use to do the backup
  • Usernames and Passwords for the sites you visit (including RootsChat!)

You may be one of the people who trust their research results to the likes of Ancestry, and hope that they will take care of backups for you. You think you can get away with just the last item in the above list. Fair enough, but what if you fell on hard times or could no longer afford an increase in the subscription? What if they stopped providing the service because it was no longer profitable? Can you download everything and keep it locally? Why not try it out now?

So once you have your hands on your data, you need to make a copy.