Author Topic: Swales Forest  (Read 8268 times)

Offline Anna Harris

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Swales Forest
« on: Sunday 24 April 16 00:15 BST (UK) »
Hi, I'm new to Roots Chat but an avid FH fan so hello!  My GGG Grandad Thomas Winter married an Alice Forest in 1860 in Barnard Castle/ Bishop Auckland.  I've found who I think was Alice listed as Annias Forest in 1851 in Thorngate Barnard Castle, her father matches the marriage certificate, listed as Forest Swales, a Potter by trade.  So far so good.

My problem is that I can't find any further record of Forest Swales.  I believe he married a lady called Jane (Swailes/ Cunningham or Wilson) and had 6 children then Jane died and he married Elizabeth Wilson and had several more children.  I wonder if anybody:

a) has any evidence of his first wife Jane's maiden name (Wilson? Cunningham? Swales?)
b) if anybody can shed any light on the provenance of Elizabeth Wilson.  I've found a marriage of Swales Forest and Elizabeth Wilson in Ripon in 1842 but her age doesn't match the 1851 census in Barnard Castle.  I've found an Elizabeth Wilson on the 1841 census who lives not far from Middleham in Yorkshire where the Elizabeth Forest listed on the 1851 census claims to be born.  Funnily enough, Swales Forest is listed as living with his son Frances living in a tent in Coverham, Yorkshire - just down the valley from Elizabeth Wilson in 1841 and her age matches the 1851 census.

I'm on Ancestry and have looked at other family trees but they are all different and don't refer to any original sources so I can't go with any of them!  Any suggestions gratefully considered.

Many thanks

Anna

Offline CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: Swales Forest
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 24 April 16 00:59 BST (UK) »
Hi

Could you clarify her fathers name please

listed as Forest Swales, a Potter by trade.
I can't find any further record of Forest Swales.