Author Topic: The TREWELA/TREVELA family (Redruth region circa 1800)  (Read 697 times)

Offline Limeburner Mitchell

• RootsChat Extra
  • Florence Adelaide, circa 1900
    • View Profile
The TREWELA/TREVELA family (Redruth region circa 1800)
« on: Tuesday 21 June 16 02:14 BST (UK) »
Hello Cornwall forum readers

I’ve been researching my mother and father’s Cornish families for about 12 years, with quite some success.  But not with the Redruth Trewelas.  Every time I go near them, I get more confused. 

That’s partly to do with the quality of information available in the registers, partly to do with the legendary variation in spelling of the surname, partly to do with multiple families with the same parents’ names in the same region, and partly to do with the strong possibility that these folks moved about a bit. 

I am aware that there are a number of Trewela researchers out there, and perhaps they can help point me in the direction of likely Trewela families? 

Here’s what I know:

My maternal grandmother often talked about her family being from Redruth.  I’ve found that on her father’s side, her ancestors are almost exclusively from St Agnes.  Over on her mother’s side, there are Wendron lines.  The only line that seems to have any Redruth connection is the TREWELA line - my grandmother’s grandmother. 

Due to my grandmother’s repeated assertion that her people were from Redruth - particularly in the face of her largely St Agnes and Wendron ancestry - I have come to believe that the Trewelas must have strong Redruth roots.  The Trewelas are an important family in our ancestry, as the name “TREVELLA” has been passed down through the generations to the present day.