Author Topic: My Newbury/Berkshire family  (Read 19630 times)

Offline Deb Clark Rennie

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
My Newbury/Berkshire family
« on: Tuesday 07 February 17 06:50 GMT (UK) »
Hello all this is my first time posting so I hope I'm doing this right.

I have a bit of family mystery I'm trying to solve so thought I would try get some help.  I'm sorry if this will be lengthy but it's hard to explain.

I've been building my family tree for almost a year and have managed to work out a good deal of it there will always be blanks as my paternal great grandparents were both illegitimate.

My great grandmother was Daisy Isabel Wade and she was mostly raised by her grandparents Frederick and Harriet Wade.  I pretty much have them all sorted.  Frederick's parents were Joseph and Martha Wade,  on all of Frederick's military papers and census records he says he was born at Oakingham near Reading, but to date I've found no baptism for him or his younger sister Isabella Wade.  In 1841 they are in Newbury and his mother Martha is listed as being from Newbury where as Jospeh and the two children are not.  They were quite tricky to trace as Jospeh was also military and after this census is only found in Dublin and is buried in the Arbor Hill Military cemetery as he was prison guard.  I know by Frederick's marriage to Harriet his father was a colour Sargent as was he.  But I've no idea where Jospeh came from prior to that 1841 record or who Martha was.  However I did find a marriage on find my past in 1831 for a Joseph Wade widower and Martha Grubb in Newbury, Frederick was born in 1832 so I thought this could well be them.