Author Topic: George (William) Thompson supposedly died in SASK, Canada in 1905  (Read 8795 times)

Offline Tees

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
George (William) Thompson supposedly died in SASK, Canada in 1905
« on: Tuesday 21 February 17 17:37 GMT (UK) »
Dear Sir or Ma'am:

I am not an expert when it comes to Canadian records or Canada.

I just was informed that my great great grandfather George Thompson who was born in 1843 in Richmond, Yorkshire died in SASK in 1905. His second wife Mary née Storey died there in 1935.

I am wondering if the vital records index there is incomplete or it is complete.

I have no way of knowing if the death records are correct or not?

CAD$50 is a bit steep for a death certificate!  :o

I would appreciate any help. I am wondering who did they (the couple) went with?

What years are the censuses in Canada?

Thanks!

Tees

Offline Tees

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: George (William) Thompson supposedly died in SASK, Canada in 1905
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 21 February 17 20:38 GMT (UK) »
New information: Just found out a bit more looking at a Saskatchewan family history book: it says Margaret Story Thom(p)son moved to Saskatchewan with her daughters Margaret, Polly, Miria, Martha, and Hilda as well as sons Joe and George. They farmed in Balcarres, Saskatchewan Canada. Sarah came with her mother to Canada in 1902 and moved to Saskatchewan in 1905.

It sounds like George Thompson died in England, not in Canada? Your thoughts?

I am waiting for more information from my Thompson relatives. Surprised that the surname changed to Thomson??

All the information tallied with my side---especially 1901 Census I have on this family. One bonus is that they confirmed that there were TWO sons.

I do hope someone could help me with this Canadian side to see if he did die in Canada or in England.

I think it is odd since he was not in any burial indexes up in Yorkshire--he was not buried with his first wife.