Author Topic: Newbury St Nicholas Baptisms - 1802-1812 - Norris family  (Read 1844 times)

Offline hatofthecat

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Newbury St Nicholas Baptisms - 1802-1812 - Norris family
« on: Saturday 25 February 17 16:48 GMT (UK) »
A reply a few days ago to my other request re. Toomer's 1815 census of Newbury has thrown up a stack of siblings I didn't have before but the baptisms for Newbury for this period are not on the BFHS Baptisms CD and I can't find online anywhere  ::)  Looks like a trip to Reading or Newbury library unless someone has a copy of the transcriptions ?? (I know they are available at Berks record office and also a copy at Newbury library)

The children are: ages as given in 1815, parents are William Norris & Sarah (nee Hopgood) who married in Newbury in July 1801.  William a breeches maker & glover by trade.

William Norris aged 13
James Norris aged 12
Henry Norris aged 9                   
George Norris aged 6
Mary Norris aged 5
Elizabeth Norris aged 3

There may also be Charles Norris born about 1825 as he turns up on 1851 census with same trade as these children's father.  Would be interesting to know who his father was as on 1841 census his is just listed with his mother Hannah, a glover, and several siblings including a sister Mary Ann who is living with Charles & his wife on the 1851 census.

I think there may be one, possibly two, other William Norris born 1799-1802 in Newbury as there's one a carpenter living St Marys Hill on 1851 census and another at Boxford an Ag Lab.

I think the sons Henry & James may have died in 1834 & 1836 respectively, as there are burials then that seem to fit with their likely birth years.

Any assistance gratefully received.
Norris / Andover, Poplar, Canning Town, Stratford
Hughes, Cooper, New  / Berkshire
Waugh, Lisle, Davison, Mole, Luke, Dodd / Northumberland
Walton / Cumberland, County Durham, Northumberland
Littlefair / County Durham, Northumberland