Author Topic: Ancestry DNA Circles  (Read 3899 times)

Offline MickD67

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Ancestry DNA Circles
« on: Saturday 18 March 17 22:27 GMT (UK) »
Hi all, be gentle I'm a newbie.  ;)
Does anyone know why your linked tree on Ancestry has to be public in order to get the DNA circles?  Is it not possible just to have a linked private tree with an opt in?

TIA

Offline davidft

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Ancestry DNA Circles
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 19 March 17 07:56 GMT (UK) »
From reading this

https://support.ancestry.com/s/article/ka215000000TzL6AAK/Exploring-Your-DNA-Circles-1460088593698

I would say the reason is that DNA circles are not just about DNA but the data entered in other peoples trees. It would be a tad unfair to expect Ancestry to tell you about the matches you may have in other peoples trees without them being able to be informed of the matches they have to your tree.

Others may have a better explanation ........
James Stott c1775-1850. James was born in Yorkshire but where? He was a stonemason and married Elizabeth Archer (nee Nicholson) in 1794 at Ripon. They lived thereafter in Masham. If anyone has any suggestions or leads as to his birthplace I would be interested to know. I have searched for it for years without success. Thank you.

Offline rsel

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 19 March 17 11:52 GMT (UK) »
Just be aware making your tree public does not automatically put you into DNA circles, I don't have a single circle from any of my 3 DNA tests, despite my tree being quite detailed and public.

However, like davidft says, you can't expect the benefits of sharing other peoples research without sharing your own data. I know people have privacy concerns, but you can always create a second striped down tree that you link your results to, to gain the benefits of circles and the matches.
Sellens - Sussex