Author Topic: Missing family data pre-1871  (Read 2847 times)

Offline aggiebagwash

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Missing family data pre-1871
« on: Thursday 10 August 17 13:57 BST (UK) »

I'm looking for John Charles White a Baker by trade, born in Winchester circa 1830, he's not on the 1841, 51 or 61 censuses and he suddenly turns up in Manchester in 1871 with a family. His wife Mary Ann Aubrey born Banbury, Oxfordshire circa 1835 and children Margaret born in Maidstone Kent circa 1856 and Frederick born in 1859 in Walsall and this is where I hit a brickwall. There are no birth or marriage records for him and Margaret's birth isn't recorded.

I wondered if Mary Ann had been married to someone else when Margaret was born so I cross referenced every Margaret born in Maidstone between 1855-1857 and then looked for a marriage of the surname to a Mary Ann Aubrey and couldn't find one.

The White's are  not on the 1861 census anywhere in the country so it makes searching backwards more difficult.

I've found Mary Ann on the 1841 and 51 censuses and her brother living with them in 1891. It's John White that's causing the problem. I know he was probably a journeyman baker so moved around the country but where was he pre-1871?

I really would appreciate some help on this family it's driving me crazy.

Margaret

Offline josey

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Missing family data pre-1871
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 10 August 17 14:38 BST (UK) »
Doesn't help find John but this presumably is Frederick's birth, so some variation in Mary Ann's  name...
WHITE, FREDERICK       MMN HORBURY     
GRO Reference: 1859  S Quarter in WALSALL  Volume 06B  Page 543
Seeking: RC baptism Philip Murray Feb ish 1814 ? nr Chatham Kent.
IRE: Kik DRAY[EA], PURCELL, WHITE: Mea LYNCH: Tip MURRAY, SHEEDY: Wem ALLEN, ENGLISHBY; Dub PENROSE: Lim DUNN[E], FRAWLEY, WILLIAMS.
87th Regiment RIF: MURRAY