Author Topic: Going Digital - How Do I ?  (Read 1792 times)

Offline newbeginings

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Going Digital - How Do I ?
« on: Tuesday 13 March 18 01:34 GMT (UK) »
Hello All, I am and I am not a beginner.  I have a fair amount of paper based research done in the 1970s and 1980s which I am resurrecting and dragging into the 21st Century.

What is the best way to do this.  My families are mainly Scottish, but with links to Burma, Jamaica, USA and Australia in the days of the British Empire, with branches still in these countries.  Would this impact on my choice of which website to use - Ancestry or another ?  For recording my own tree would I be better to use a stand alone ?  Two people have mentioned Family Tree Maker - is this current, or was it popular a while ago and people still use it ?

Really appreciate some help here !

Offline Guy Etchells

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Going Digital - How Do I ?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 13 March 18 08:03 GMT (UK) »
Hello All, I am and I am not a beginner.  I have a fair amount of paper based research done in the 1970s and 1980s which I am resurrecting and dragging into the 21st Century.

I do not really understand what you mean by “dragging into the 21st century”, your paper research from the 1970s & 1980s if carefully done is as valid today as it was then. Furthermore it will last thousands of years longer than the majority of digital records created today.
Experienced “digital” family historians recommend a paper back up of digital work as an archive of last resort.

What is the best way to do this.  My families are mainly Scottish, but with links to Burma, Jamaica, USA and Australia in the days of the British Empire, with branches still in these countries.  Would this impact on my choice of which website to use - Ancestry or another ?