Author Topic: Possible Gypsy Ancestry? HUTCHISON, Scotland  (Read 5885 times)

Offline Lana2017

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Possible Gypsy Ancestry? HUTCHISON, Scotland
« on: Tuesday 01 May 18 13:34 BST (UK) »
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new at this whole genealogy thing so apologies in advance  if I ask any silly questions!

I'm looking into possible gypsy / traveller heritage on my tree, it's a bit of a longshot but I figured worth investigating anyway. On Gedmatch Eurogenes K13 I score somewhat higher in South Asian and West Asian than the reference populations I am from (Scots and Irish). I have South Asian 1.64 and West Asian 7.06. Still low enough they could just be noise I think..?

Anyway, I got interested in possible gypsy heritage as I came across two sisters, Clementina and Ruby on my tree (I understand Clementina is an unusual name outside the traveller community). I looked around for traveller surnames in that branch but all I can find so far is Clementina's grandmother was Mary Anne Hutchison, which appears in the gypsy surname index.

Unfortunately I don't have much info on her other than that she married James Haywood and had a son, also James Haywood, in 1831 in Edinburgh. I haven't been able to trace the Hutchison line itself.

Any input or advice appreciated :)

Thanks!
I have a visual impairment which makes research difficult to please forgive any silly questions :)
Hutchison - Midlothian
Dow & Gray - Ayrshire
McQuillan - Ballymena /  Donegal
Reilly - Cavan / Cork

Offline Steve G

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • My Maternal Great Gran ~ Polly Burge
    • View Profile
Re: Possible Gypsy Ancestry? HUTCHISON, Scotland
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 01 May 18 15:03 BST (UK) »
Lana; The Book Of Bob (Click the little house under my avatar) does indeed list Hutchinson as a name used, by Gypsys, of the Scottish Borders. 1891.