Author Topic: Snipping Tool  (Read 884 times)

Offline g forgeron

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Snipping Tool
« on: Tuesday 15 May 18 14:01 BST (UK) »
How do you activate the Snipping Tool in Windows Seven?

Offline Finley 1

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 8,530
  • a digital one for now real one espere
    • View Profile
Re: Snipping Tool
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 15 May 18 14:08 BST (UK) »
click on it :) 


I have mine on the task bar, so that it is available at all times -
I use it all the time as this :

So to use it at first - you will find it in your programmes.. and then you can set it on the task bar.
When you need it have - whatever it is you want to 'snip' open on the desk top. Pick up the Snipping tool--
The screen will become 'ghosty'  - it has a layer put over the area.   So you then drag the cursor - which is a plus sign over the area you want and there you go.  Dont forget to save it.

xin  ;)

Offline 3sillydogs

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,825
  • Durban South Africa
    • View Profile
Re: Snipping Tool
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 15 May 18 14:26 BST (UK) »


I use Firefox as a browser and they also have a "snipping tool" you will need to find it in the add-ons and then add it to the task bar.  Works the same way as Xinia's :D :D
Paylet, Pallatt, Morris (Russia, UK) Burke, Hillery, Page, Rumsey, Stevens, Tyne/Thynne(UK)  Landman, van Rooyen, Tyne, Stevens, Rumsey, Visagie, Nell (South Africa)


Offline arthurk

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,524
    • View Profile
Re: Snipping Tool
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday 15 May 18 14:31 BST (UK) »
I have mine pinned to the Start menu - nearly as accessible as xinia's solution.

If you need to find the native Windows tool, it's in the Start Menu > All Programs > Accessories. If you right-click the item there, you get options to pin it to the Taskbar or Start Menu. Send To gives an option to put a shortcut on your desktop, though that's not very helpful when the desktop is covered by a browser window.
Researching among others:
Bartle, Bilton, Campbell, Craven, Emmott, Harcourt, Hirst, Kellet(t), Kennedy,
Meaburn, Mennile/Meynell, Metcalf(e), Palliser, Robinson, Rutter, Shipley, Stow, Wilkinson

Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Billyblue

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,047
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Snipping Tool
« Reply #4 on: Tuesday 15 May 18 14:33 BST (UK) »
I had the same problem on a friend's computer when I wanted to use the Snipping tool, and my instructions I wrote down were:
Go to All Programs
type in Snipping Tool
then anchor it to the task bar as others have said

I see arthurk has beaten me to it, with more details  :P

Dawn M
Denys (France); Rossier/Rousseau (Switzerland); Montgomery (Antrim, IRL & North Sydney NSW);  Finn (Co.Carlow, IRL & NSW); Wilson (Leicestershire & NSW); Blue (Sydney NSW); Fisher & Barrago & Harrington(all Tipperary, IRL)

Offline arthurk

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,524
    • View Profile
Re: Snipping Tool
« Reply #5 on: Tuesday 15 May 18 14:35 BST (UK) »
 ;D  ;D  ;D
Researching among others:
Bartle, Bilton, Campbell, Craven, Emmott, Harcourt, Hirst, Kellet(t), Kennedy,
Meaburn, Mennile/Meynell, Metcalf(e), Palliser, Robinson, Rutter, Shipley, Stow, Wilkinson

Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline g forgeron

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Snipping Tool
« Reply #6 on: Tuesday 15 May 18 15:56 BST (UK) »
OK, thanks to all who have replied