Author Topic: Russian Polish immigrant to Wales at turn of century  (Read 32415 times)

Offline Gwaelodian

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Russian Polish immigrant to Wales at turn of century
« on: Thursday 07 June 18 18:27 BST (UK) »
Hello. Roots chat researchers have helped me often in the past. For those that helped me trace the soldier who embroidered a sampler, Van Someran, they may  like to know I was not successful in locating this family. However, thanks to your help, the sampler is now safe in a small museum.

Today, I am asking help to locate a person I met some years ago. He owned three shops in the Welsh Valleys but lived in London. When I met him, he was approaching ninety and still working. As he got older, he told me much of his history. I have tried to find him via census research but had not luck. I am not good at it!

When I met him, he was called Ernest Gershenson. I learned as I got to know him better his birth name was Nachmen Mendle, son of Chika Writson and Benchein Gerschenzen. They came from Russian Poland to Tredegar in Wales at the turn of the century. He remembered the Tredegar riots against the Jewish families.

When he died in the 1990s (I think), he was living in Sutton,  Surrey. I have so many letters from him, so many of his tales, that I would love to find him in a census. He never told me his date of birth, but he seems to have been a child when the Tredegar riots happened in 1911. Anyone there who feels like helping me on this search? Many thanks.

Offline Maggsie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Russian Polish immigrant to Wales at turn of century
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 07 June 18 18:55 BST (UK) »
Hi,
A death in Sutton in 1998, aged 95.
in 1939 he was married to Fay, she was a midwife.
Maggsie

Offline Gwaelodian

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 07 June 18 19:07 BST (UK) »