Author Topic: Nathaniel Grant was a soldier in Elgin buried in Elgin Cathedral, 1820  (Read 1528 times)

Offline mgscott

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Nathaniel Grant was a soldier in Elgin buried in Elgin Cathedral, 1820
« on: Saturday 23 June 18 02:03 BST (UK) »
My wife's direct ancestor, Nathaniel Grant was born c1753 and died 29 Aug 1820, interred in Elgin Cathedral.  I have been researching my wife's family tree for many years.  We have visited Scotland from Canada several times...including Elgin.  But recently I was very happy to find online records for the Moray/Heritage records.  Nathaniel does show up in these records and his occupation is listed as a soldier. My question is what service/regiment he might have been part of..so I can start looking for his records there?

thanks
Scott-Traquair, Catslacknowe, Ashkirk, Sco
Stutt-Co Fermanagh and Tyrone, Ulster, NI
Newton-North Plantagenet(CAN), Ireland
Grieve-Roberton, Lilliesleaf Sco
Hodgins-Cloughjordan, Co Tipperary, Ire
Elliot-Canonbie, Bogra, Holmhead, Annan, Sco and Egremont Engl
Little-Canonbie Sco,  Kingsbridgeford, Thirlwall, Wallasey Eng
McAlister-Louth Co., Queen's Co. Ire
Smith-Whitehaven Eng

Offline barryd

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Nathaniel Grant was a soldier in Elgin buried in Elgin Cathedral, 1820
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 23 June 18 04:17 BST (UK) »
Elgin Cathedral was/is a ruin. A Roman Catholic Cathedral. Nathaniel Grant sounds like he was an officer in the army to be buried in the Cathedral. I found no evidence of his death on ScotlandsPeople 1820,

Offline mgscott

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 23 June 18 05:07 BST (UK) »
thanks....you say he was likely an officer in the army.  i don't know the local history so which regiment/army were up there in those days?

here's link to heritage record providing this info.