Author Topic: Joan Wickstead (1921-1941?) No trace  (Read 1240 times)

Offline elinor14

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Joan Wickstead (1921-1941?) No trace
« on: Monday 27 August 18 13:03 BST (UK) »
Hello!
Bit of a newbie here but I've exhausted all avenues in searching for what happened to my great-aunt.
We know that she was born to John Thomas Wickstead (1880-1924) and Mary Sheridan (1886-1924) in 1921:
Births Mar 1921
Wickstead    Joan    Sheridan    Toxteth P.    8b   255
However as her parents both died within a week of eachother in 1924 when she was only 3, we don't know what happened to her after that. There is talk of her being put in the care of her aunt Rachel Hughes (b.1889 nee Wickstead) and her husband, but the 1939 register has a black 'this record is closed' line across a third member in the household (as far as we know Rachel and William Hughes had no children of their own so we think this might be her). I've searched for marriage and death records but none of them match the stories I've heard from now deceased family members. Is there any way I could see if her name might have been changed to that of her guardian? I've found a family tree with her in it on a website but they have it listed that she died in 1941 despite there being no record of this, and when contacted the owner had heard from family members that she had died in childbirth at the age of 20, in which the child survived. However again I cannot find any record of this.
I'm sorry if this is just a spam of information or I've posted in the wrong place, but please if anyone has any tips let me know. It would be much appreciated as I seem to have hit a brick wall with this one!

Elinor

Offline medpat

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Joan Wickstead (1921-1941?) No trace
« Reply #1 on: Monday 27 August 18 13:13 BST (UK) »