Author Topic: West Riding Mental Hospital, Airborough U.D.  (Read 3393 times)

Offline LauraMurg

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
West Riding Mental Hospital, Airborough U.D.
« on: Monday 08 October 18 14:40 BST (UK) »
I've been lurking here a while but this is my first post, so hi, I'm a bit of a rookie!

I've had a record pop up for my 2nd Great Grandfather listing him as a patient at West Riding Mental Hospital in 1939.

I'm trying to do some background reading on the hospital but I don't want to start down the wrong path. When I search for 'West Riding Mental Hospital, Airborough' (all the information on the record) the hospital that repeatedly comes up is High Royds Hospital in, I think, Menston. Has anyone else had this place appear on a record with just "Borough, U.D. or R.D.: Airborough U.D." and "West Riding Mental Hospital" under the "Address" column? There are just a couple of things I've read that make me a little uncertain if High Royds is definitely the place he was a patient.

Thanks in advance!

Offline dave the tyke

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: West Riding Mental Hospital, Airborough U.D.
« Reply #1 on: Monday 08 October 18 16:43 BST (UK) »
Hi LauraMurg, welcome to RootsChat.
I am pretty certain that High Royds was the only mental hospital in Airborough in 1939. I think what I would do, to be certain, would be to check the addresses on pages adjacent to your grandfather's in the census. It depends where the info came from as to how easy that would be. Good luck.

Dave
Bland, Greenwood Bland, Ellis, Benn, Woodhead, Priestley, Illingworth, Lightowler, Platts, Boys, Bradley, O'Hara, Hall<br /><br />Areas -  North Bierley, Northowram, West Bowling, Horton, Shelf, Allerton, Queensbury, Haworth, Ovenden, Halifax, Luddenden, Midgley, Elland, Littleborough

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline cath151