Author Topic: A. Glyn Sherwin - Architect in 1930s Newcastle Under Lyme  (Read 1781 times)

Offline staffsuk

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
A. Glyn Sherwin - Architect in 1930s Newcastle Under Lyme
« on: Friday 12 October 18 15:41 BST (UK) »
Hi all!

Well I don't know where to start with this - I'm a complete newby when it comes to searching for records of an individual  :(

I am trying to trace any records (ideally surviving family) of an A. Glyn Sherwin. He had an architectural practise based in Rectory Chambers in Newcastle Under Lyme in the 1930s up until at least the mid 1950s. He was responsible for some notable buildings in North Staffordshire including cinemas, public houses & at least one private residence. I have read one piece naming him that suggested he may have resided in Tunstall.

Through online searches I could find only one record of a 'Arthur G. Sherwin' who died in Hemel Hempstead in 1966. Having just spoken to their BDM office they suggested that person's profession wasn't a match so was unlikely to be the man I am looking for. They couldn't say if the 'G' was Glyn. Just to add I have sometimes seen Glyn spelt Glynn.

I am currently researching his christian name for which I have found one record that suggests it was Alfred (London Gazette, 11th December 1956).

Oh my - where to start?!

Any pointers would be gratefully received  :)

Thanks!

Offline keyboard86

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: A. Glyn Sherwin - Architect in 1930s Newcastle Under Lyme
« Reply #1 on: Friday 12 October 18 15:57 BST (UK) »
Hi he could be the Alfred G Sherwin b c 1898 with wife Dora in 1939 Stone, Staffs?
Keyboard86
Pelly/Pelley/Kingsbury/Challis/Nalder/Rochester/Raydenbow

UK Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline JJen

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 12 October 18 16:32 BST (UK) »