Author Topic: Illegitimate babies and finding fathers- where to being or when to give up?!  (Read 970 times)

Offline Rebaby

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to roots chat and to genealogy in general, so I'm hoping you might be able to either point me in the right direction or tell me if I'm wasting my time!

My Grandma was born 'out of wedlock' in 1939 and so far as any of us in the family knows, her mother never revealed the identity of the father to anyone. All we know is that she was in service at the time, possibly in a house in Scotland, but returned home to Lancashire to have the baby.

Do I have any hope of uncovering who her biological father was, and if so where would be a good place to start?

Many thanks in advance!  :)

Offline clayton bradley

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Re: Illegitimate babies and finding fathers- where to being or when to give up?!
« Reply #1 on: Friday 09 November 18 14:04 GMT (UK) »
Many people these days use autosomal DNA to narrow down the possibilities and there are Facebook pages specifically offering help for this situation. Good Luck, cb
Broadley (Lancs all dates and Halifax bef 1654)

Offline trystan

• Administrator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • RootsChat Co-founder
    • View Profile
Re: Illegitimate babies and finding fathers- where to being or when to give up?!
« Reply #2 on: Friday 09 November 18 14:10 GMT (UK) »
Rebaby,

Does the family know which house she was in service at the time, or have some sort of idea where it might be?

The census that she would have been in (if she was in Scotland) would have been the 1931 census (but you'll have to wait another 14 years or so to access it probably).

Your great-grandmother may have received a letter reference for her next employer from the house that she was in service.

Trystan