Author Topic: All Branches on the Same Family Tree?  (Read 1427 times)

Offline John Laidler

• RootsChat Extra
  • The Books: Two Go to Spain:   https://t.co/6mpWVfNlqC Two Go to Italy: https://t.co/7cUOHo4jSl
    • View Profile
All Branches on the Same Family Tree?
« on: Wednesday 14 November 18 11:39 GMT (UK) »
Hello, newbie here and my first post.  ;D
I've just started using ancestry.co.uk this week and fairly quickly gone back on my father's side of the family to the 1700's. I need to check what I've done as there are some obvious discrepancies on things like places of birth but most of what I've found seems credible and also very interesting.
However, I also want to look my mother's side of the family.
My first question is should I start a new family tree or just add to the one I've already got on my father's side? My concern is I find navigating around the family tree when it is on screen a bit clunky with the Ancestry website.
My second question is if I start a new family tree for my mother's side can it be easily combined with the other at a later date?
Many thanks in anticipation of suggestions for the best way forward.   :)

Offline Mart 'n' Al

• RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Re: All Branches on the Same Family Tree?
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 14 November 18 11:47 GMT (UK) »
You've either been working very hard, or you have accepted as gospel truth things that other people have said. I'm trying to be helpful, but research the concept of genealogy proof standards. Every couple of hours on this forum somebody comments about the absolute rubbish on ancestry, such as people giving birth aged 150.  Just because somebody else with an ancestry account has said something, it doesn't mean that it's true. You either had to be there or have substantial documentary evidence.   I say again that I am only trying to be helpful and constructive.

Martin

Offline groom

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Me aged 3. Tidied up thanks to Wiggy.