Author Topic: HIGGS from Penn in Wolverhampton  (Read 800 times)

Offline WOLVERHAMPTON HIGGS

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
HIGGS from Penn in Wolverhampton
« on: Thursday 06 December 18 13:51 GMT (UK) »
Hello,

My Grandad researched and drew a family tree for our HIGGS family, who originated from Penn in Wolverhampton. He got as far back as JOHN HIGGS, with the date 27th November 1776 in Penn, with a little i next to it. I'm not sure whether the i means died or anything else? He married Jane Shelton on 10th August 1757. Most of the HIGGS PENN family were locksmiths.

I am a total novice at family history research, but I would like to see if I can go back further. He never used the internet and visited records offices personally.

He said that he met other HIGGS researchers who had got stuck at the same John Higgs, as there was scant information about him. Apparently there were theories about who his parents could have been but the evidence is not conclusive enough.

I would love to know whether anyone has managed to solve this and find out more? Also, if you think you might be linked to this same family tree, I have a lot of information mapped out that you might find useful.

Thank you

Offline BushInn1746

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • My Family's Links 19th Cent
    • View Profile
Re: HIGGS from Penn in Wolverhampton
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 06 December 18 14:42 GMT (UK) »
Hello,

My Grandad researched and drew a family tree for our HIGGS family, who originated from Penn in Wolverhampton. He got as far back as JOHN HIGGS, with the date 27th November 1776 in Penn, with a little i next to it. I'm not sure whether the i means died or anything else? He married Mary Shelton on 10th August 1757. Most of the HIGGS PENN family were locksmiths.

Hello

Welcome to Rootschat.

i probably means interred (buried).

Mark

Offline bevj

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Robert Paterson 1866-1909