Author Topic: Parish record browse on Ancestry?  (Read 593 times)

Offline Davedrave

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Parish record browse on Ancestry?
« on: Saturday 26 January 19 09:30 GMT (UK) »
I have been using Findmypast for a while and find it quite easy to use. I am quite new to Ancestry and find it more problematic. I’ve found some entries in a family tree, which seems to be reliable, but am unable to locate the original parish records for a couple when using the search fields. Is there a way to locate a parish register and then browse through it? I’m not finding a baptism in 1675 in Bledington, Glos., for example. It may be that they are indexed under a bizarre transcription: some certainly are. On Findmypast I would know whether the register was accessible on that site.

Dave :)
ESSEX: Cramphorn Raven Sams Sayers Taylor; GLOS: Beacham/Beauchamp; HERTS: Chamberlain Chuck; LEICS: Allot Bentley Godfrey Greasley Hunt Hurst Jarvis Lane Lea Light Woodward; LINCS: Lambert Mitchell Muse ; STAFFS: Hodgkins Jarvis; SURREY: Light; WARKS: Astley/Chesshire Bradbury Hicken/Hickin Hudson; WORCS: Ballinger Beauchamp Laight

Offline BumbleB

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Parish record browse on Ancestry?
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 26 January 19 09:40 GMT (UK) »
Baptism records for Bledington only appear from 1813 onwards at Ancestry.

To go to parish records, and then browse.

Home page - select Birth, Marriage and Death including Parish
Then select UK Parish Records
Then scroll down to locate the county or other heading for the collection you require

Transcriptions and NBI are merely finding aids.  They are NOT a substitute for original record entries.
Remember - "They'll be found when they want to be found" !!!
If you don't ask the question, you won't get an answer.
He/she who never made a mistake, never made anything.
Archbell - anywhere, any date
Kendall - WRY