Author Topic: Frances Rodd who married Roger Hereford by 1632-3  (Read 1232 times)

Offline venelow

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Frances Rodd who married Roger Hereford by 1632-3
« on: Tuesday 05 February 19 00:19 GMT (UK) »
Hi Hereforders

I am new to this county and finding the going tough. There seems to be a lot of gaps in the records. I'm trying to find the parents of Frances Rodd. Supposedly she was born about 1611 and married into the Hereford Family of Sufton Court Mordiford. Find A Grave says she died in 1689 but have no photo of her tomb.

Her father is said to be James Rodd but I have not found any real proof of this and there seems to be quite a few James Rodds in Herefordshire. I have looked at as many wills or will abstracts as I can find but no mention of Frances Rodd or Frances Hereford.

It seems I will not be able to get a copy of a will if I find one as Herefordshire Archives do not deal with people outside the UK. At least that's how I read their website. Let me know if I have misunderstood. Will I have to employ someone in the UK to obtain for me?

Does anyone have any information about Frances' baptism or marriage? The indexes I have consulted (FindMyPast & Family Search) have no record of her.

Thanks for reading.
Venelow

Offline mazi

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Frances Rodd who married Roger Hereford by 1632-3
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 05 February 19 16:49 GMT (UK) »
I notice a Frances Hereford of fownhope, not far from Mordiford probated 26-3-1690 in Hereford archives wills index.

I see they offer to send copies by email, quite how you pay in uk£ I’m not sure.
Mike

Offline venelow

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 05 February 19 20:37 GMT (UK) »
Yes Mike, that was what was puzzling me.