Author Topic: Help - 24th Reserve Battalion  (Read 89 times)

Offline NatalieDeCruz

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help - 24th Reserve Battalion
« on: Tuesday 05 February 19 20:34 GMT (UK) »
Evening all, i was wondering if anyone can help me.  Im new to WW1 research and with some help i have discovered by G Grandfather served in the 24th Battalion.  His name is Edward Samuel Clark born 1881 Battersea.

I have a record from the Surrey Recruitment Registers 1908-1933 which has him listed as Edwd Saml Clark with a birth town of Bermondsey.  His profession was a Butcher, he was married to an Ethel Maud Chaplin, and his next of kin address is 291 Lynton Road, Bermondsey.  ( I know this address is correct as its also listed on his brother records, as well as the birth of my grandfather.)  The only number i can find, is 55429.  I am assuming this is a service no of sorts, and have been searching on line and tried various ways of inputting that no, TR/10/55429, L/55429 etc, but am just getting v confused. 

Can anyone help or send me off the right direction please.

thanks all x

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.

Online MaxD

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Help - 24th Reserve Battalion
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 05 February 19 21:51 GMT (UK) »
The battalion he was allocated to when conscripted was 24th Training Reserve battalion.  The Training Reserve was formed in Sep 1916 and is explained here:
https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/regiments-and-corps/training-reserve/

From this we see that his service number was given the TR 10 prefix so that is where TR 10/55429 comes from.