Author Topic: Polish Records - ALl help appreciated.  (Read 1822 times)

Offline GAYNORI

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Polish Records - ALl help appreciated.
« on: Wednesday 03 April 19 18:48 BST (UK) »
Hi Does anyone know where they keep Polish telephone directories in England or would there be all directories at main library in for example Krakow. Also was there such things as land tax records/censuses etc. Sorry to ask so many questions but I am totally new to Polish research.

I am researching the name Teresko in Mlawa I was hoping that there may be distant cousins etc. The forenames I am researching are Piotr. Plato, Stephan & Valentino/e. I think that Stephen had children called Alexander, Nicolai & Anatasia so they may have survived. We do know they were Catholics and had a farm in/around Mlawa.

Piotr was born in 1924 and I am trying to find his parents Maria Anna & Plato's marriage. Piotr is my granddaughter's Great Grandad and she really wants to find out about her Polish Roots.

I have been told that this surname is not Polish (ends in sko not ski and it is more popular in the Ukraine/Belarus area.
Many thanks
Gaynori

Offline Adam81

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Polish Records - ALl help appreciated.
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 10 April 19 23:04 BST (UK) »
Are you sure the surname was exactly Teresko? Do you have any documents with this surname? Very unusual for Poland.

Try to search here. However this surname  is not showing up.

http://geneteka.genealodzy.pl/index.php?op=gt&lang=eng&bdm=S&w=07mz&rid=628&search_lastname=teresko&search_name=&search_lastname2=&search_name2=&from_date=&to_date=&exac=1&rpp1=&ordertable=
Wackermann
Molatta
Cuber
Cygan
Biela
Bielawski
Leibiniec
Dubeński
Wicher
Duzinkiewicz

Offline GAYNORI

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 11 April 19 22:08 BST (UK) »
Hi