Author Topic: Requesting service records from MoD if person transferred from RAF to Army  (Read 375 times)

Offline campinginalaska

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Would someones service number remain the same despite transferring from the RAF to the Army? My great-grandfather served a majority of his career in the Royal Engineers but from what I've been told about him, he apparently started in the RAF and ended up putting in a transfer after seven years. He got a long service and good conduct medal while serving in the RE (did 20 years) so I'm assuming maybe he didn't transfer and it was just hearsay (His oldest living relative was born when said great-grandfather was 30.)

Sorry if I'm a bit of a newbie I'm new at this  ::)

Offline MaxD

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Requesting service records from MoD if person transferred from RAF to Army
« Reply #1 on: Friday 12 April 19 08:56 BST (UK) »
Short answer is no, he would have received a different number in the army. 

You don't say what the time frame is although if he definitely started in the RAF (and not one of its forebears)  it must have been after April 1918?  Would you like to post his name and what you know about his place/date of birth and it may be that we can find out something more about him.  Does his Long Service and Good Conduct Medal have his number engraved?

MaxD
I am Zoe Northeast, granddaughter of Maximilian Double.

It is with great difficulty I share with you that in the early hours of 07 August 2021, Maximilian passed away unexpectedly but peacefully.

With deep sadness,
Zoe

Double  Essex/Suffolk
Randle/Millington Warwicks
Sokser/Klingler Austria/Croatia

Offline campinginalaska

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 12 April 19 14:16 BST (UK) »
Short answer is no, he would have received a different number in the army.