Author Topic: Are family Bibles ever wrong?  (Read 5734 times)

Offline ruthruss

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Are family Bibles ever wrong?
« on: Sunday 19 May 19 06:04 BST (UK) »
Hello there. I have been tracing my Norfolk ancestors for several years and felt I was making good progress using official records and triple checking my facts. However I recently came into contact with a distant family member from Wales who said that according to an old family Bible, my gggg-grandfather Dennis Allen (b 1790) was the son of John Allen. I had believed he was the son of a Thomas Allen, as yhere are no baptism records for a Dennis Allen born to a John Allen.

Now I wonder, is it more likely that the baptism record is simply missing or that the family Bible (which is in VERY poor condition) is incorrect?

Many thanks,
Ruth
Allen Batterby Rimmer Conroy Brigham Pierpoint Butcher Winnard

Offline majm

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • NSW 1806 Bowman Flag Ecce signum.
    • View Profile
Re: Are family Bibles ever wrong?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 19 May 19 06:30 BST (UK) »
Yes, the entries in a Family Bible can include mistakes, and sometimes the person reading the entries can mis-read.   Jno and Thos. may be so poorly written or faded or ink bleeds that perhaps what has been read as John is actually Thomas or vice versa.   

JM
The information in my posts is provided for academic and non-commercial research purposes. 
Random Acts of Kindness Given Freely are never Worthless for they are Priceless.
Qui scit et non docet.    Qui docet et non vivit.    Qui nescit et non interrogat.   
All Census Look Ups Are Crown Copyright from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
I do not have a face book or a twitter account.

Offline Rosinish

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • PASSED & PAST
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 19 May 19 06:42 BST (UK) »
There's also the case of the 4 'W's...Who Wrote What When?