Author Topic: is ancestry .com worth my trouble?  (Read 2660 times)

Offline Dancing Bear

• I am sorry but my emails are no longer working
  • RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
is ancestry .com worth my trouble?
« on: Tuesday 16 August 05 05:40 BST (UK) »
I am a first born Australian searching for my English Ancestors and I am relatively new to this geneology "addiction".
i have been searching for the past 7 months and have found this site the absolute best!!!!!!
My question is what would be the best site for looking up the Census's. I know i can ask on this one for requests, but where can i go on the net where i can look for myself and help others in their search, like you all do for me.
 Most of my ancestors are English I may have to venture into scotland and ireland when i get into the early 1800's and further back. But majoprity of them are in England.
I would rather pay a one off sum rather than paying for each and every look up.
Can anyone help me? 
Dancing Bear  :)
London, Northumberland, Scotland, Devon so far

Offline Jane Eden

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: is ancestry .com worth my trouble?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 16 August 05 07:37 BST (UK) »
Hi Dancing Bear

I use Ancestry.co.uk but also have access to Ancestry.com through Family Tree Maker. I prefer the uk site because it doesn't have the reams of American data that always seems to come up on .com. I have used the original images for the census data many times plus some of the other info.

There is also alot of free data on the web, Free BMD, Free Cen and of course Family Search which I used constantly when I first started a year ago.

I am sure you will get many different answers.

Best of luck. If you have anyone in Nottingham please contact me for help.

Jane
Notts: Burrows, Comery, Foster, Beeson.
Derbys: Burrows, Comery, Smith  Lincs: King. 

Information contained within Census Lookups is Crown Copyright:  www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline casalguidi

• RootsChat Honorary