Author Topic: Do Marriage Licenses always carry the father's name?  (Read 1323 times)

Offline M_ONeill

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Do Marriage Licenses always carry the father's name?
« on: Monday 08 July 19 14:11 BST (UK) »
Apologies for what might be a very basic question, but I'm new to using marriage licenses in family research. Do marriage licenses (and/or associated depositions) always carry the father's name in the case of the bride?

I'm trying to sort out a bit of a complicated tangle in the 18th century part of my tree, and I was wondering if finding documents related to the marriage would help place a concrete name for an ancestor's father.

Offline medpat

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Do Marriage Licenses always carry the father's name?
« Reply #1 on: Monday 08 July 19 14:20 BST (UK) »
Certificates are only as good as the information given so sometimes there is accidental and sometimes deliberate wrong information.

With English and Welsh marriage certificates (the only ones I've dealt with) the father and his occupation of both bride and groom should be there.

Some people have stated father is deceased when he isn't or he is and it's not stated. People who are illegitimate sometimes make up a father and others don't know the truth and give the name of the man who they believe is their father.

On the whole I have found people being honest, you just have to be aware that all may not be as it seems. These certs. didn't start until 1837.

Prior to that it's up to finding documentation that shows it but most parish registers just show bride and groom. Looking at witnesses could help you find their family. Being under age may help you as there would have to be consent.
GEDmatch M157477

Online BumbleB

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 08 July 19 14:22 BST (UK) »