Author Topic: Walter Wharton Little 1827-1894 Longtown  (Read 2165 times)

Offline LittleGenealogist

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Walter Wharton Little 1827-1894 Longtown
« on: Friday 04 October 19 16:59 BST (UK) »
Hi -

I'm new to Rootschat and I'm looking to find more information about my ggg-grandfather. I've exhausted everything online and I'm hoping that someone has access to Arthuret parish records or suggestions about what I can do to find out who his parents were. 

Here's what I know: 

From census records 1841-1891... I know he was born in Longtown in 1827 and moved to Elswick with his children and wife, Margaret (b. 1824 Longtown).
From an "irregular" marriage record, I know he married Margaret Huggon in Gretna Green in 1850. Birth records of his children confirm her maiden name.
From his death record, I know he died in 1894 in Elswick.

What I want to know is who his parents are:

In the 1841 census Walter lives on Netherby St with Jane Little, but Jane's age puts her too old to be his mother.  Is this his grandmother? 

Walter seems to go by Walter Little in the census, but is listed as Walter Little Warton in one of the Gretna Green records and Walter Wharton Little in his death record.  Is Wharton just a middle name? Or could he be the illegitimate child of a Mr. Wharton and a Miss Little? Or a Mr. Little and a Miss Wharton?

Thank you so much for helping out!

-Kate
Little, Wharton, Huggon, Renwick, Edkin/Atkin (Longtown)
Robson (Jedburgh)
Richardson (Winlaton)
Wines/Wynes (Scotland?)

Offline Gan Yam

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Going Home - exploring my past
    • View Profile
Re: Walter Wharton Little 1827-1894 Longtown
« Reply #1 on: Friday 04 October 19 21:24 BST (UK) »
There's a non conformist baptism at the Scotch Presbyterian Church, Nether Knowe, Bewcastle for a Walter Little, son of William Little and Jane.