Author Topic: DESCENDANTS OF SWINBURNE FAMILY, COLLON, COUNTY LOUTH, IRELAND  (Read 1555 times)

Offline PIGLET392006

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DESCENDANTS OF SWINBURNE FAMILY, COLLON, COUNTY LOUTH, IRELAND
« on: Thursday 14 November 19 00:48 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone, I'm still relatively new to Rootschat so please be patient with me!

Elsewhere on Rootschat I've started a topic with regards to my great-grandfather, Harry
Rundle, & I'm having great help with that to fill in missing pieces in the family story. That topic is related to my mother's side through her father. Thanks everyone for all your help with regards to that.

Also related to my mother's side is the name Swinburne/Swinbourne. Richard Swinbourne, born 1789, became a member of the Lough Regiment of Militia at age 17 & was eventually made a Corporal. He emigrated to New Zealand in 1851 with his wife, Ann McGrath, & their children, some of whom eventually made their way to the USA. Richard Swinbourne & family were some of the first settlers at Lyttelton Immigration Barracks, Port Lyttelton, NZ, in the early 1850's.

One of their children, John Foster Swinbourne born in or around 1826, married Eleanor Saunders in Dublin, Ireland in 1849 & initially emigrated to Sydney, Australia in July 1849, before his parents decided to do the same about 2 years later. He then travelled on to New Zealand, eventually making their way back to Australia in or around 1863. John Foster & Eleanor Swinbourne (nee Saunders) are my great-great-great grandparents on my mother's (maternal) side.

According to what I've researched, John Foster & Eleanor Swinbourne had 9 children, 7 boys & 2 girls. All of their children, except the two youngest, were born in New Zealand. The youngest, William, was only about 12 months old when he died.