Author Topic: Jameson Family  (Read 663 times)

Offline slippery

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Jameson Family
« on: Monday 25 November 19 15:36 GMT (UK) »
How can I obtain a birth certificate for a Roger Emerson Jameson who was born on 24 January 1942 and died on 7 November 2010 (from memorial). According to a relative his parents were Charles and Margaret Jameson who lived Toronto.

I am trying to find out where Charles and Margaret came from memory they left the UK from Liverpool.

I am new to Canadian records so I need help.

Peter

Offline polarbear

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Jameson Family
« Reply #1 on: Monday 25 November 19 17:21 GMT (UK) »
I'm afraid births in Ontario are protected for 100 years by privacy laws. There are also restrictions related to who can apply for a record. To obtain information in the time frame you are looking at, one would need to use other sources such as newspaper notices, voters lists, and so on.

General info here....

https://www.ontario.ca/page/get-or-replace-ontario-birth-certificate#section-11

PB
We search for information but it is up to the thread owner to verify that it is correct.

British Census copyright The National Archives; Canadian Census copyright Library and Archives Canada

Offline Craclyn

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 25 November 19 18:39 GMT (UK) »
Most folks left from either Liverpool or Southampton so knowing the port does not help too much in figuring out where they came from. Have you checked emigration records? If you can find the appropriate passenger list then it may give more detail about Charles and Margaret.