Author Topic: Greenslade / Francis Bath Somerset  (Read 864 times)

Offline Quinnh

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Greenslade / Francis Bath Somerset
« on: Friday 10 April 20 11:59 BST (UK) »
Hello,  :) I am a newbie, a little nervous! I hope I get this correct!  Many thanks in advance for any help that you can offer. 
So, My Great Grandmother is Lavinia Sarah Francis 1868-1951 she is a foundling and was adopted along with her sister by Solomon and Emily Francis in 1876 (of the Francis Hotel Queen Square Bath).  They already had children of their own.
I visited Bath Records office and was helped to find a fabulous book from the board of governors and in it is says 16 Day February 1876 meeting of the board of governors Mr Solomon Francis was permitted to adopt deserted child in the workhouse - Lilly Blanch 5 years old.  Then in another book - 8 March 1876 Solomon Francis was permitted to adopt the sister of the child adopted 3 weeks ago.   
The girls were baptised on 30 April 1876 St Paul Bath Somerset.  Lavinia Sarah Francis and Emily Martin Francis.  (Martin was the maiden name of Emily Francis) Both listed as founding’s. 
Family story goes that the girls were disowned by the Francis family when my Grandmother Lavinia Married the Town Postman,  Herbert Greenslade.  Feb 1890.
This seems to be true as I can find no mention or connections, I have seen newspaper articles of funeral details and I also have seen the wills of both sides.  I was thinking that maybe someone would write that they did not want anything to go to etc but no mention at all?