Author Topic: Newman marriages 1906  (Read 996 times)

Offline Newfloridian

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • MENE INTUS ET IN CUTE NOVISTI
    • View Profile
Newman marriages 1906
« on: Friday 24 April 20 08:30 BST (UK) »
I came across the following entry in the FreeBMD indexes for June 1906 Winslow 3a 1675:

Haines Charles
Newman Lucy Ann
Newman Mary Kate
Smith Albert John

It generated these questions: What's the betting this is just a coincidence of names? What's the better bet that Lucy Ann and Mary Kate are sisters. Indeed in the family I am studying, Charles Newman and Rose Ann Cook did have two daughters with those names born in 1880 and 1885. The family lived in Gran(d)borough

Now, Mary Kate Newman did marry Albert John Smith. She had a son named Percy in 1907.
Then as Mary Kate Smith she married  Albert Norman in the Winslow District in 1920.

Next question: Where did Albert John Smith go? Casualty of WWI? Casualty of Spanish flu? With a name like that almost impossible to determine

The, who was Charles Haines? I can see four Haines / Newman births between 1919 and 1934 in Amesbury and Charles, now a widower, with the two named offspring, is in the 1939 Register (the other two are redacted).

If this is the Charles who married Lucy Ann Newman, I can't find a death certificate for her that would fit the dates.

I have the transcripts CD for Grandborough but it only goes as far as 1901. Are the Parish Registers for 1906 available anywhere to show whether they were sisters and indeed married on the same day?

One small entry in the indexes - a whole heap of extra questions. I guess the only other alternative would be the two marriage certificates but with the GRO seemingly in lockdown who knows how long that would take

Alan

Leicester / Northampton: Craxford,  Claypole, Pridmore, Pollard, Tansley, Crane, Tilley
Derby: Naylor, Ball, Haywood
Buckinghamshire: Cook
London: Craxford, Lane Crauford
Tyneside: Nessworthy, Simpson

Offline Comberton