Author Topic: James Crumlish 1828-1882 County Tyrone  (Read 742 times)

Offline tlsewell

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
James Crumlish 1828-1882 County Tyrone
« on: Wednesday 06 May 20 19:32 BST (UK) »
I am new to overseas searches and I need some advice.
I am looking for an ancestor James Crumlish 1828-1882 He emigrated from Liverpool, headed for Baltimore, Maryland in September of 1851 on the Scotia. He is listed without other family on the passenger list and he is listed as a Laboror. Later, he was a shoemaker, but, I believe he apprenticed in the US. His US census records list him as Irish and his obituary lists him from County Tyrone. James married first and Irish woman and then a German (both in the US). I do not know what this says about his religion. So, I have no parish. I do not know his his parents and only the year of birth. His children were in order: Ella, John Thomas and Joseph.
From reading other previous posts, I have checked the Griffith’s Valuation and found what others said, four listings for Crumlish with one in Tyrone (William).  Where do I go from here?
t.

Offline eileenwilson

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: James Crumlish 1828-1882 County Tyrone
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 07 May 20 18:56 BST (UK) »
His second wife is buried in a Quaker cemetery according to her obit.  Where is James buried?

Offline Elwyn Soutter

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 07 May 20 21:31 BST (UK) »
Only a small number of people named Crumlish in the 1901 census for Tyrone. All Roman Catholic.
Elwyn

Online gaffy

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 07 May 20 23:08 BST (UK) »
The Tithe Applotment Books show:

1. James Crumlish at 'Farughmore' in Donacavey (1827) - likely the townland of Freughmore:

https://www.townlands.ie/tyrone/clogher/donacavey/freughmore/