Author Topic: DICKENS family - Orpington burial question  (Read 795 times)

Offline louisemcm

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DICKENS family - Orpington burial question
« on: Tuesday 16 June 20 17:30 BST (UK) »
Hello
I'm new to researching family history and have found parish records on Familysearch.org which had entries showing that three of my relatives are buried in the parish of Orpington.

Frederick Dickens buried April 16th 1877,
Lizzie Dickens buried 1st March 1883 (under 1880 Burials Act) certified by Ann Dickens
Ann Dickins/ Dickens buried Feb 3 1902 - I think it says ald /old ground next to the entry

Could anybody advise me which cemetery this would relate to and how I can find a map of the graveyard so that I could visit their memorials.
I'm also not sure what being buried under the Burials Act means and why her mother certified the entry.

Many thanks for any help or guidance.
Louise

Offline JohninSussex

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: DICKENS family - Orpington burial question
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 17 June 20 11:06 BST (UK) »
If the information comes from parish records, presumably the burials were in the church yard.  The actual parish registers don't usually state whether there was a memorial stone or similar.  Might be worth trying to contact the church, or Bromley Council might hold some records, it's always worth asking by e-mail.

https://www.bromley.gov.uk/info/200111/records_and_archives
Rutter, Sampson, Swinerd, Head, Redman in Kent.  Others in Cheshire, Manchester, Glos/War/Worcs.
RUTTER family and Matilda Sampson's Will:

Offline louisemcm

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 17 June 20 11:42 BST (UK) »
Hi John
Thank you so much for replying and for sending the link to me.
I'll get in contact with them.
Best wishes
Louise

Offline Gibel

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile