Author Topic: Why cant I use extension lead  (Read 902 times)

Offline VICTORIA

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,432
  • AT SPES INFRACTA
    • View Profile
Why cant I use extension lead
« on: Friday 17 July 20 07:04 BST (UK) »
Hi need advice. I have just bought Indesit built in oven with 13amp plug. The cord on back is not long enough to plug into socket on wall. The instruction manual says dont use extension lead. Can anyone tell me why? Any help appreciated.
Victoria
COLBECK,WHITEHAVEN CUMBERLAND
COLEBECK,HOPE,MILLER,LIVERPOOL
SCHAMBERG,MEMMEL PRUSSIA
ROCHE,ROACH,MAHER,FOY IRELAND
SANDFORD.TYNAN, LIVERPOOL.
HUBBARD,TAYLOR KENT.
HOPE NORTHUMBERLAND
SANDFORD NEWCASTLE/UPON/TYNE.



LANCASTER,GOWLAND,NORTHUMBERLAND
FOY, ROSCOMMON IRELAND,LIVERPOOL.
SMITH,HAMPSHIRE, & LIVERPOOL
SEALES SURREY CRADDOCK,HAMPSHIRE

Online Jamjar

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 9,886
  • Scottish GGGrandmother-Grace MORRISON née JARDINE
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #1 on: Friday 17 July 20 07:32 BST (UK) »
The extension lead may overheat.

Jamjar
Atkinson; Badier; Cameron; Grant; Howie; Jardine; Jenkins; Kerr; Lawardorn; Lee; Linton; Lonie; McConnell; Morgan; Morrison; Murphy; O'Leary; Paton; Pratt; Robb; Williams

Online Jamjar

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 9,886
  • Scottish GGGrandmother-Grace MORRISON née JARDINE
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #2 on: Friday 17 July 20 07:53 BST (UK) »
You could go with: https://www.toughleads.co.uk/collections/heavy-duty-13a-extension-leads/products/13a-extension-lead

I would think that using an extension would void any warranty on the device.

Jamjar
Atkinson; Badier; Cameron; Grant; Howie; Jardine; Jenkins; Kerr; Lawardorn; Lee; Linton; Lonie; McConnell; Morgan; Morrison; Murphy; O'Leary; Paton; Pratt; Robb; Williams


Offline PaulineJ

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 15,091
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #3 on: Friday 17 July 20 08:36 BST (UK) »
Just use a short extension lead (1 metre) and there will be no issue.

Leads can overheat if yards and yards of it is coiled up,  but there won't be that issue on a short extension. 

Pauline
All census look up transcriptions are Crown Copyright http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
======================================
We are not a search engine. We are human beings.

Offline Skoosh

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,264
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #4 on: Friday 17 July 20 09:05 BST (UK) »
Said that on my new freezer which also has a short lead and plugs into a yard long extension. The guy who fitted it never commented & as there was a fault less than a year later due to a faulty thermostat, their engineer never commented either.
 Incidentally I claimed Saga house insurance for the loss of fillet steaks & smoked salmon etc, they put me through to their underwriters who thought about £250'ish for losses was reasonable. Back to Saga who whittled it down to about £70'ish due to excess. Is it worthwhile insuring freezer contents?

Skoosh. 

Offline Finley 1

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 8,513
  • a digital one for now real one espere
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #5 on: Friday 17 July 20 09:12 BST (UK) »
It is all about the fire risk.... if you add an extension lead that is then hidden or partly hidden under a work surface... You have lost control of the smell of wires etc if they touch... always have Plugs and Sockets in a position of safety. (and sight may look ugly but safety is best). or with automatic shut off device...


It is also about Insurance pay out... ask 'Severide' he will tell you. :)

xin

Offline Calverley Lad

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #6 on: Friday 17 July 20 09:24 BST (UK) »
There is the danger of using an extension cable where the wire size is too small!
If you are going to use an extension ask someone who knows what they are doing also.
 Brian (50yrs in the electrical business)
Something like this item from B&Q suitable:
Brand   B&Q
Model name/number   NC103B-BD
Colour   Black
Pack quantity   1
Power voltage supply   240V
Switched/unswitched   Switched
Amp rating   10A
Product code   05163823
[ inline 3pin connector]
Cost @£6.00
Yewdall/Yewdell/Youdall -Yorkshire

Offline VICTORIA

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,432
  • AT SPES INFRACTA
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #7 on: Friday 17 July 20 09:58 BST (UK) »
Thank You everyone for help/advice, a friend says could use heavy duty extension lead. Will look at what has been advised.

Victoria
COLBECK,WHITEHAVEN CUMBERLAND
COLEBECK,HOPE,MILLER,LIVERPOOL
SCHAMBERG,MEMMEL PRUSSIA
ROCHE,ROACH,MAHER,FOY IRELAND
SANDFORD.TYNAN, LIVERPOOL.
HUBBARD,TAYLOR KENT.
HOPE NORTHUMBERLAND
SANDFORD NEWCASTLE/UPON/TYNE.



LANCASTER,GOWLAND,NORTHUMBERLAND
FOY, ROSCOMMON IRELAND,LIVERPOOL.
SMITH,HAMPSHIRE, & LIVERPOOL
SEALES SURREY CRADDOCK,HAMPSHIRE

Offline Dyingout

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • My Father Charles in his hockey playing days
    • View Profile
Re: Why cant I use extension lead
« Reply #8 on: Friday 17 July 20 11:28 BST (UK) »
Which model is it.
If it is the Indesit IFW6330WHUK
current consumption is 0.88KwH so 880 watts
So amps equate to 880w divided by uk voltage nominally 240 equals 3.66 amps.
So 13 amps seems a little overkill for something like that.
Dow/Dowe Norfolk and Suffolk
Mulley/Wilden Suffolk
Loome/lombe Norfolk