Author Topic: Trying to connect up distant Potter relatives using DNA  (Read 322 times)

Offline History Lives

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Trying to connect up distant Potter relatives using DNA
« on: Friday 25 September 20 14:34 BST (UK) »
My 6x great grandfather is John Potter born around 1778, probably in Liverpool, but not sure. This is as far back as I've been able to get using paper genealogy. Don't know who his siblings are. His children were Ann, Ellen, Frances, Jane, Robert, John, Louisa and Charlotte, some born in Liverpool and some in Chester.

I'm now trying to use DNA to see if I can push through this brick wall. I'm new to using it. I have a few matches that descend from people with the Potter surname, descendants of the following people:

• Dorothy Potter, born in Woolton in 1817, Lancashire to Thomas Potter and Mary Latham (10 Centimorgans shared). Married James Hockenhall.
  • Lydia Potter, who married Jeremiah Clough in Prestwick in 1803. (share 8 Centimorgans) . Born 1784 in Worsley, Lancashire to David Potter.
  • two people that descend from Thomas Potter born in Wirksworth, Derbyshire about 1700.

I'm trying to piece this together to link their trees to mine but am having a hard time doing so. Any advice on how to work through these kind of situations?
North West, North Wales and Isle of Man:

Ward, Campbell, Cowin, Cowell, Parry, Fryer, Davies, Hughes, Briscoe, Jones, Spencer, Brownbill, Crowfoot, Nield, Randles, Youde

Gozo, Malta:

Apap / De Apapis, Camilleri, Grech, Muscat, Micallef, Custo, De Nasi

Angus, Scotland:

Ormond, Salmond, Cook, MacDonald

Offline Romilly

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to connect up distant Potter relatives using DNA
« Reply #1 on: Friday 25 September 20 16:27 BST (UK) »

Have you checked via Thrulines on Ancestry?