Author Topic: Labour Corps Soldier  (Read 599 times)

Offline nrsclark

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Labour Corps Soldier
« on: Monday 30 November 20 19:04 GMT (UK) »
My great grandfather served altogether between 1915 and 1917. This is what I know:-

Name - Clark, John Edgar
Enlisted – 17.5.1909
Regimental Number - 1189 6th Essex Regiment (TF), Private
Labour Corps – 89182 (149th Company ex 3rd Lancs FA or possibly 3rd Lon FA, also 491 Labour Corps ex E Yorks)
Discharged – 21.12.1917

There is another number 204294 mentioned on his Medal Roll Index card, in the top right hand corner.

He was initially deployed with the Essex Regiment at Gallipoli (24.7.1915 from Devonport).
On October 2nd 1915 – hospitalised on Malta (note sent home from Warley office)

After his hospitalisation date, I have no knowledge of what became of him except that at some point he transferred into the Labour Corps, and was there at his time of discharge, due to sickness. And that he did survive the war.

His medal cards state that the Balkans was his first theatre of war which tallies with Gallipoli. He also received the Victory Medal, British Medal and 15 Star according to Ancestry. Nothing else to go on except his Labour Corps service number. It would be great to know something more of his service.

Offline tonepad

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Labour Corps Soldier
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 01 December 20 09:10 GMT (UK) »
Welcome to RootsChat :)

As your great grandfather enlisted in 1909, he should be on the 1911 Census as serving in the army.
Do you have his date and place of birth?

Tony
Aucock/Aukett~Kent/Sussex, Broadway~Oxfordshire, Danks~Warwickshire, Fenn~Kent/Norfolk, Goatham~Kent, Hunt~Kent, Parker~Middlesex, Perry~Kent, Sellers~Kent/Yorkshire, Sladden~Kent, Wright~Kent/Essex

Offline jim1

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • ain't life grand
    • View Profile